17th Azerbaijan International Travel and Tourism Fair

5 - 7 April 2018 • Baku Expo Center

Travel Centre » Country Focus

The territory of the Republic of Azerbaijan is 86,600 square km. Azerbaijan is situated in the geographical coordinates of 440 and 520 eastern longitude, and 380 and 420 northern latitude. Baku is situated in the 40th parallel. Azerbaijan shares borders with Iran to the south (765 km), Turkey (11 km), Russia to the north (390 km), and Armenia to the west (1007 km). The length of the coastal line is 713 km. To early 2014, population of the Republic of Azerbaijan totaled 9.552.005 people

Azerbaijani is the official language of the Republic of Azerbaijan. Besides, more than 20 million Azerbaijanis reside in the Islamic Republic of Iran also speak Azerbaijani. Several millions of Azerbaijanis reside in Russia, USA, Turkey and Western Europe. There are over 30 million speakers of Azerbaijani at present.

In addition to Islam, Christianity (in its Orthodox, Catholic and Protestant groupings) and Judaism are practiced in Azerbaijan.
In accordance with its constitution, Azerbaijan is a democratic, secular and unitary state governed by the rule of law. The unitarity is of a specific character: the Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic is an autonomous state within the Republic of Azerbaijan. According to its form of government, the Republic of Azerbaijan is a presidential republic (government). The system of ruling is regulated by the principle of the separation of powers into legislative, executive and judicial branches. The bodies of local self-government - municipalities - hold a special place in the political system of Azerbaijan. The party and political system of Azerbaijan is characterized by pluralism.

Azerbaijan is a member of the following international organisations:

  • United Nations (UN),
  • Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC),
  • Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE),
  • Organisation for Democracy and Economic Development (GUAM),
  • Organisation of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC),
  • Organisation for Economic Cooperation (ECO),
  • Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS).

Azerbaijan works with the European Union, NATO, International Monetary Fund, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, Islamic Development Bank and other organisations.

For more information, please visit:



All news